Volunteerism Makes Our South Pacific Costa Rica Communities Go ‘Round

“Volunteers are not paid – not because they are worthless, but because they are priceless.”

– Sherry Anderson

Having lived in two different ‘first world’ countries, and visiting many more in my life, I have always been surprised by the amount of places where drinking tap water is deemed unsafe.  This water is seemingly good enough to brush your teeth with, wash your dishes, and have a shower, but it’s apparently no good to drink without filtration and bottling. 

As such, when I first started visiting Costa Rica, I also didn’t drink the water from the tap.  Almost everyone who lived here told me it was fine but I couldn’t believe it was possible that I could drink the water here, but not from the tap in my apartment in Toronto.  Wasn’t Costa Rica supposed to be below Canada on the scale of access to the best of the necessities for life? [Read more]

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

